Meal Prep Madness: My New Sunday Ritual

Last year while living away I was not very good about cooking and planning meals, partially because I was busy but partially because the kitchen in my apartment was disgusting and I avoided it at all costs. I usually either got carry out or ate salads out of bags, very sad.

This year, I am able to be home on the weekends in my own kitchen (my favorite place) with all my own cooking stuff. Determined to eat better this year, I have recently started meal prepping on Sundays for my lunches and dinners. Hands down, this has changed my life and decreased my week stress immensely. It also helps ensures that I eat healthy!

DSC_0817.jpg

Last week I packed chicken sausage with kale, tomatoes, and steamed broccoli. For this upcoming week, I stepped up my game and made two different meals (1) roast chicken, spaghetti squash, organic marinara with a handful of fresh parmesan (2) salmon, roast sweet potatoes, and steamed broccoli. I packed a lemon wedge because last week, I sprinkled some lemon juice on the broccoli before packing and it turned brown. It still tasted okay but looked sort of odd.

DSC_0839.jpgDSC_0832.jpgDSC_0845.jpgI packed some mid-day snacks as well. Michigan apples and a tablespoon of peanut butter. DSC_0834.jpgAll packed up and ready to go! I place it all in an insulated bag and take it with me to Michigan. Set for meals for the week!

DSC_0846.jpgAll together, this took me about an hour including cooking time. It was actually very easy and I highly recommend it! It was so nice to save money during the week and to come home to a healthy, delicious meal!

Bon appetit,

ally

Leave a Reply

