Meal Prep Madness: Keeping it Simple

I have become a huge fan of meal prepping. I usually do it Sunday morning before my journey back to Michigan. My weeks are so busy that eating healthy (on a budget) and avoiding take out is especially difficult. It’s nice to have one less thing to worry about. It does take a little planning but I’ve gotten it down to a science.

I try to mix it up, here is what I made for this week:

  • Sauteed veggies with 100% buckwheat soba noodles (optional: add a poached egg or grilled salmon for more protein)
  • Mango lime quinoa
  • Chicken sausage, egg white, spinach cups (breakfast)

DSC_0386.jpg

Breakfast:

I got this idea from Arielle Calderon’s Instagram (love her recipe ideas!).¬† I used organic chicken Italian sausage. First, saute frozen chopped spinach, and shallots. Then, place the spinach in the bottom layer of a greased muffin pan. Nestle in a slice of sausage and sprinkle some mozzarella cheese around. Finally, cover with about 2-3 tablespoons of egg white. I poured my egg whites in a bowl first and seasoned with dried oregano, salt and pepper before placing into the cups.

DSC_0391.jpg

Yum! Each one has about 40 calories. Low-carb and high in protein! I will rotate these with overnight oats with blueberries and flaxseed.

DSC_0399.jpg

Lunch/Dinner:

Next up mango lime quinoa salad. This was very easy. I picked up a pre-made tub of mango salsa from the deli (about $4.00) and added it to about 3/4 cup of quinoa. Squeeze the juice of a lime on top. Serve with sliced avocado. Super easy!

DSC_0403.jpg

DSC_0408.jpg

For dinners, I sauteed broccoli and red peppers in some sesame oil to go with soba noodles. You can add poached eggs or some grilled salmon. Fantastic dinner!

DSC_0412.jpg

Of course, Meatball was happy to help (and pick up anything I dropped).

DSC_0338.jpg

Bon appetit!

ally

Leave a Reply

