A Tale of Two Meats: Bourbon Baby Back Ribs and Roasted Herb Turkey Breast

It’s the first Saturday in May, which means one thing: Derby day! I am in Chicago this weekend and I felt like making a great dinner while I have use of my kitchen. But first, mint juleps..

DSC_0426.jpg

The market had some great baby back ribs, so I picked some up and used the bourbon in the marinade.

DSC_0440.jpg

I partially followed two recipes, one from Epicurious and one from the Food Network. I let the ribs marinate for a few hours in a bourbon-dark brown sugar-course ground mustard blend (below).

Bourbon Rib Marinade:

  • 1/4 cup Bourbon
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon course ground Dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper

After marinating, I placed the ribs in a pan tightly covered with foil in a 350 degree oven, then let them cook for about 45 min. I pulled them out, brushed some more sauce on them (below) on them and let them cook uncovered for about 10 more minutes.

Bourbon Basting Sauce:

  • 1/4 cup Bourbon
  • 1/4 cup steak sauce
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • two pinches red pepper flakes

I also picked up a turkey breast. This was very easy, drizzle of extra virgin olive oil, dried herb blend of rosemary and thyme, and salt and pepper. Whatever is extra, I will take in my lunch this week.

DSC_0443.jpg

Served with roasted asparagus drizzled with hollandaise sauce. I like my hollandaise sauce extra lemon-y which is so yummy with asparagus. Also, warm, yeasty rolls right out of the oven. Fantastic!

DSC_0449.jpg

Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

Bon appetit,

ally

Leave a Reply

